SMS Research Help Page: Home

Use Destiny Discover to search for physical items in the South IMC.

• Books (Fiction, Non Fiction, Biography...)

• Magazines

• References

• AV Materials (Playaways and CDs)

Use Sora to search for items in electronic format. Sign in with school username and password.

• ebooks

• Audiobooks

A citation reflects all of the information a person would need to locate a particular source. "A quotation from or reference to a book, paper, or author, especially in a scholarly work," (Merriam Webster). 

We need to give credit to the authors of the work that you are using. You don’t want to take information made or created by someone else without citing your sources. 

• Watch Citations Video HERE (Flocabulary)

• Watch Plagiarism Video HERE (Flocabulary)

How to Create a Project in Noodle Tools

CLICK HERE ON HOW TO CITE A DATABASE ARTICLE (Import/Export)

CLICK HERE ON HOW TO CITE A DATABASE ARTICLE (Copy/Paste)

CLICK HERE ON HOW TO CITE A BOOK

CLICK HERE ON HOW TO CITE A WEBSITE

CLICK HERE ON HOW TO CITE AN IMAGE

CLICK HERE ON HOW TO SHARE A WORKS CITED PAGE

Research is NOT, “Hey Google, Solve all my Research Problems!”

• Love Google, but Google lets almost anyone put things on the internet

• If you do use Google, you need to ask the HARD QUESTIONS (Who, What, Where...)

• Why Evaluate Websites when Databases are free and easy to use!

Why Use Databases?

• Databases are collections of data or information organized for rapid search and retrieval

• Databases are purchased by the District specifically for student projects.

• Why Evaluate Websites when Databases are free and easy to use!

Three Ways to Find Databases

Clever has MANY Databases under the Heading "Research/ebooks" in Clever.

OR

Use this page to find links and descriptions of all databases under the Heading "Research" in Clever.

Time to Cite Your Sources

 Noodle Tools is a Citation Maker. 

FIRST TIME USING NOODLE TOOLS?

 OPEN CLEVER 

FIND UNDER "RESEARCH/EBOOKS" in Clever.

ACCOUNT SET UP:

Use this link for help to Start your project

Use this link to help find citations in Databases

Use this link to learn how to add citations for your Works Cited/Bibliography

AND/OR

View the Video Tutorials on the LEFT SIDE of this page