Locust Lane Library Resources: Pathfinder

Click on a book to view it in our catalog. Use your library borrower barcode to request books from the library. They will be held for you and you can pick them up at your next library time.

Explore the USA series

Travel through each state to learn about its history, cities, land features, animals, industries, sports, famous people, and more! Highlights kid-friendly things to do in each state along with vibrant, oversized photos to showcase the beauty and diversity of the United States.

Portraits of the States series

Features state facts and symbols with information about the history, people, land, economy, and government of each state. Enjoy the "fun facts" sprinkled throughout and the chapter on "things to see and do." Each title includes a timeline, biographies of notable people, and numerous maps and charts.

The 50 States

Illustrated maps of the fifty states of America feature state capitals, famous residents, and key historical moments. Also includes a guide to the state flags, a list of presidents, and numerous state facts.

50 Cities of the USA

Take a tour of America's best-loved-and lesser known-cities in this book of maps. Explore skyscraper streets, museum miles, local food trucks, and city parks from Anchorage, Alaska to Washington D.C. More than 2,000 facts celebrate the people, culture, and diversity that have helped make America what it is today

Weird but True: USA

A collection of 300 weird facts about the United States with fun, full color photos.

America's National Parks

Highlights the sights and wildlife of sixty of America's national parks. Each entry includes brief facts about the park and suggestions on what to see and what to do.

Welcome to the 4th grade United States of America research pathfinder. Each 4th grader will choose a different state to research. We will work on this project for the months of January and February. (And maybe March, too, if we need more time!) Together, we will write a book about the 50 states, and we will create a giant, illustrated map of the United States to display in the hallway. On this page, you will find all sorts of information and resources to help with your state research project. There are books you can check out from the library, videos you can watch, games you can play, and websites you can explore. You'll be an expert on your state in no time. If you need additional help, stop in the library to see Ms. Abel; she's been to 43 of the 50 states and is always willing to help!

Click here to play the "Where in the USA is Ms. Abel?" kahoot to test your knowledge of American landmarks!

To watch embedded videos, click here to log in to Learn 360. Then, refresh this page.

US Symbols

Presents the history and meaning of the most well known American symbols, and also addresses how these symbols came to represent liberty.

Man-Made Monuments and Memorials of the United States

Delve into the reasons that monuments and memorials are erected to commemorate people and events important in United States history. Learn the stories behind many American landmarks on a journey across the country.

Discoveries and America

Click here to view the full playlist.

Discoveries and America is a 52-part series about each of the United States of America. Each video describes cultural activities important to the state's people and visits various geographic regions within the state. 

Visit National Parks for Free!

All fourth graders in the United States can get a free pass to visit any National Park. Click the picture below and, with the help of a grown-up, get your free National Parks pass. Start planning trips to all the places you've learning about!

PebbleGo Next: States

Click the picture above to visit PebbleGo. Click the "PebbleGo Next" purple tab at the top of the page. Then click "States." PebbleGo Next features lots of information about each of the 50 states including geography and weather, history and government, industry, people, landmarks, state symbols, and fast facts. View a timeline of the state's history, learn the lyrics to the official state song, or find a state-specific recipe to try at home!

TrueFlix: My United States

Click the picture above to visit TrueFlix. On the lefthand side, click the red tab "My United States." This site has a video about each state, and full-color read-aloud eBook to accompany the video. The ebooks feature information about each state's history, culture, government, land, and wildlife. Check out pictures of state symbols and discover for yourself the truth about each state.

Encyclopedia Britannica: Tour the U.S.

Click the picture above to visit the Encyclopedia Britannica. Click the yellow search bar in the top right corner and type in a state name. Click the first result. (Ex: "Wisconsin (state in the U.S.) Each encyclopedia entry covers the geography, people, economy, and history of the state. Sprinkled throughout are fun facts and pictures.Click the play button to have the page read-aloud.

Fact Monster: Explore the 50 States

Click the picture above to visit Fact Monster. Click on any state on the map to get a detailed profile of that state, including history, points of interest, and famous natives. Or, scroll down the page for additional United States of America trivia. Which state has the hottest temperatures? Where are people the happiest? Find out here!

Enchanted Learning: US States

Click the picture above to visit the Enchanted Learning website of state profiles. Each profile contains quick facts about the state. Learn about major lakes and rivers, what to call people who live there, and even the state's official dance or fossil! This site also includes printable maps and activities for each state.

National Park Service

Click the picture above to visit the National Park Service website. Click any state on the map to find the National Parks located in that state. Explore each park's website to learn of the beauty of nature found all over the United States. Maybe even plan a trip!