Makerspace: About
Makerspace
The following equipment, materials, and resources are available to all MHS students, classes, clubs, teams, and staff.
`
Equipment |
What We Have
- 3D Printers
- Button Makers
- Breakout Kits
- Coding & Robotics
- Conference Rooms
- Cricut
- Docking Stations
- GoPro Camera
- Green Screen
- Heat Press
- iPads
- Large Monitors for Presentations
- Laser Engraver
- Video Recording Accessories
3D Printers
- filament provided for most projects
- Dremel and other finishing tools available
Use With:
- Thingiverse.edu
- Thingiverse
- Tinkercad
- MakerBot CloudPrint
- library iPads with these programs loaded
- 3D Print Request Form
Learn More:
Button Makers
- button sizes: 1 inch, 1.5 inch, 2.25 inch, and 4 inch
- paper cutters
- button supplies provided for most small-scale projects
Use With:
- templates for designing in Canva (2.25" button Canva template, 4" button Canva template, 1" button Canva template)
- templates for printing, then hand drawing (1" printable button template, 2.25" printable button template, 4" printable button template)
Learn More:
Coding & Engineering
Large Screens
- connect to school laptops and iPads via Airtame or HDMI
- use for groupwork or presentations
Conference Rooms
individual use- small group use (must have teacher permission or a specific school project to work on)
- includes a large monitor with connections for school laptops
- DVD player in 1954
- not sound-proof
Use With:
- video recording equipment
- Collaboration stations
Cricut
13 tools to cut, score, write, deboss, engrave, or add other decorative effects- mats for paper and fabric cutting
- users supply their own materials
Use With:
- Cricut Design Space software - available for staff in the Company Portal; and on our library iPads for students
- Design Space
- Cricut YouTube Channel
- Creativebug library database
Docking Stations
- 6 External Monitor/Keyboard/Mouse Stations
- extend screens to work on two monitors
- present to small groups
- charge a device
Breakout Kits
- 3 kits
- escape-room type puzzles for class, club, or team
- includes boxes, multiple different kinds of locks, invisible ink, UV light pen, red lens viewer, hint cards, USB drive & more
Use With:
- Breakout EDU subscription for pre-designed games
- create your own with Game Design Studio
Learn More:
GoPro Camera
- coming soon
- reservable
- for checkout
Green Screen
1 Small Portable Screen- 1 Large Permanent Screen
Use With:
- library iPads with green screen recording app
- lights
- microphones
Learn More:
Heat Press
- 12" x 15" size
- 360-degree rotation quality industrial digital heat transfer machine combo for hat/mug/plate/cap/t-shirt
- heat tape
- heat gloves
- pressing pillows
- craft paper
- users bring their own supplies for their design
Use With:
- Canva or other design software
- heat transfer vinyl
- Cricut
- printing surface
iPads
- 4 Apple iPad 9th Gen 64GB
- 4 Gen 1 Apple pencils
Use With:
- ECASD Acceptable Use, Digital Citizenship, and Mobile Device Agreement policies
- apps available for download in Self-Service on the iPad
- tripods/stands
- wireless mics
- ring or other lights
- conference rooms
Laser Engraver
- Glowforge Pro
- coming soon
- cuts, engraves, and scores hundreds of materials
- user provides the material to engrave
Lights
- Creativebug This link opens in a new window
Stream thousands of classes & projects. Create an account with your ECASD email address.
3 Portable LED Video Lights with Color Filters- 2 Larger Lights on Tripod Stands
- 2 Ring Lights with Phone Holders
Microphones
- 3 USB microphone/headsets/stands/screens for Laptops
- 5 wireless lapel microphones for iPhones or iPads
Use With:
- Canva
- Voice Recorder (on laptop)
- Audacity (download from Company Portal)
- Adobe Audition (download from Company Portal)
- library iPads - GarageBand or iMovie apps
- library lights
Escape Room
Create an escape-room type puzzle for your class, club, or team with a Breakout EDU Digital Game or our Breakout EDU Kits. Each kit includes boxes, multiple different kinds of locks, invisible ink, UV light pen, red lens viewer, hint cards, USB drive & more.
Use a pre-created puzzle from our Breakout EDU subscription or create your own using Breakout's Game Design Studio. Learn more here:
`
Games & Puzzles |
The library has a large collection of puzzles and games located in the center shelves of the library. They are available for use in the library or to check out.
Can't find what you are looking for? Ask at the desk.
Have a game we should add to our collection? Let us know!
What We Have
`
Project Ideas |
- Creativebug This link opens in a new window
Stream thousands of classes & projects. Create an account with your ECASD email address.
- Makerspace Book Collection
Browse our collection of books for projects for Cricut, 3D printing, video, and more.